An inconvenience is an adventure

I’ve been posting a lot of quotes lately about the benefits of stories and reading, about how they can teach us (even the fun, fictional stories) to see our real lives in a different light. That’s what my favorite section from “Date a Girl Who Reads” was about:

“Because a girl who reads knows that failure always leads up to the climax. Because girls who understand that all things will come to end. That you can always write a sequel. That you can begin again and again and still be the hero. That life is meant to have a villain or two.” (Read the whole thing here.)

Apparently, G.K. Chesterton agreed. Here are two thoughts of his on the same subject:

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.”

“I wish we could sometimes love the characters in real life as we love the characters in romances. There are a great many human souls whom we should accept more kindly, and even appreciate more clearly, if we simply thought of them as people in a story.”

– G.K. Chesterton

I love this second one especially, because so many of my favorite fictional characters are deeply flawed people. I mean, how can I love fictional characters who are immature, or short-sighted, or have easy tempers, and then quickly get angry at people in my life who do one thoughtless thing?

Maybe next week I’ll make a list of my favorite fictional characters, their flaws, and why I like them. Hmm…

So here’s a question, are there any characters you love in a book or movie, but you couldn’t stand to hang around with them in real life? For example, Shawn Spencer from the tv show Psych. That man would drive me crazy, but he is hilarious to watch on tv.

2 responses

  1. I was going to write “I love the second one especially,” but you already did. (And I *have* hung out with the real life version of Shawn Spencer–both hilarious and driving you crazy, in turns.)

    Two characters I enjoy, but who would be challenging to be friends with: Jayne Cobb (*Firefly*–I’d keep wanting to shake some more integrity into him) and Sherlock Holmes (recent BBC version–I think we are too much alike on some key bad points, and I detest when other people act condescendingly superior, and I try not to let those two phrases be connected, but they certainly have been).

  2. Excellent examples, both of them. I heartily agree.

Leave a Reply

