If you follow your star

“I will give you some free advice.”

“Will it cost me anything?”

“You could say it’s priceless. Are you listening?”

“Yes.”

“Good. Now… if you trust in yourself…”

“Yes?”

“…and believe in your dreams…”

“Yes?”

“…and follow your star…”

“Yes?”

“…you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy.”

– Terry Pratchett (from Discworld’s Wee Free Men)

Have I mentioned that I love Pratchett? The quote above is advice from the ever-practical Miss Tick to apprentice witch Tiffany Aching, who’s also pretty practical and an awesome heroine.

I have nothing against dreams and plans, but advice like “follow your dreams” is pretty useless unless the hearer understands how much work it’s going to take.

3 responses

  1. Ha! Love it! I can’t stand empty nonsense about wishing on stars and following one’s dreams. Get to work. (I’m hoping this comment will only be read by those who know me and know I’m not a hard-hearted person, only immensely practical).

  2. I think you should try some other Pratchett books, Katie Mae. The City Watch books weren’t your thing, but I know you’d appreciate his sense of humor. Maybe I’ll lend you a Tiffany Aching book. I think the two of you have a lot in common. :)

    1. Sounds good. :)

Leave a Reply

