Frank kindness and companionship

“He was gradually discovering the delight there is in frank kindness and companionship between a man and a woman who have no passion to hide or confess.”

– George Eliot (from Middlemarch)

Although I’m a woman, I’ve always had a lot of male friends. I used to think this was mostly because I’m not very girly: I want to talk about science fiction rather than clothes, I like camping and hiking more than shopping, etc. But while that may be partly true, it’s also very true that guy are just cool. I’ve had a lot of great guy friends over the years – smart, funny, interesting people – and I’m very thankful for them.

And now that I’m married, it seems even easier, because there’s no nervous undercurrent where one or both of us wonder if the other person is harboring a crush.

So, thanks guy friends. You’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

