When he describes another

“A man never discloses his own character so clearly as when he describes another’s.”

– Jean Paul Richter

As I wrote on Tuesday, I love trying to figure people out. This quote is a reminder that I always see people in light of myself. And when I say something negative about them, it also says something about me – for example, the faults I point out are often the things I’m prideful about (They spend too much money, they spend too much time on their looks, they don’t work very hard – and I don’t.). And the good things I ignore are the things I take for granted, or and the things I haven’t bothered to notice.

Making a mental or verbal sketch of someone’s character is a chance to show humility (about what we don’t know), grace (about what we do), and thankfulness (for the person’s strengths, their quirks, and the ways they bless other people.

Leave a Reply

