The World Made Small

A book is the world made small;
So that even indoors on a rainy day,
You can travel around it twice each way,
And never get wet at all.

{I’m attending the Calvin College Festival of Faith & Writing today, so here’s a little poem I learned years ago about books. This was on a poster hung up behind the desk at my library when I was a teenager, and I read it every time I stood in line to check out books, which was a lot. It’s a poem for children, but not any less true. Does anyone know who wrote it? The poster didn’t say.}

Leave a Reply

