Something Uncharitable

“If something uncharitable is said in your presence, either speak in favor of the absent, or withdraw, or, if possible, stop the conversation.”

St. John Vianney

{Boy, am I not very good at this one. I can be sarcastic and cynical sometimes, especially when I’m trying to be funny. This quote remids me that, not only should I stop griping about co-workers and other people who get on my nerves, I shouldn’t stand by when other people do it. And, just for the record, “uncharitable” covers a lot of ground, and includes any failure to be “kindly or lenient in judging people.”

{So, I need to give people the benefit of the doubt (even when I don’t like them), I need to keep my mouth shut when talking will do only harm and not good, and I need to stop other people from doing this in front of me — either by standing up for the person (that I dislike), changing the subject, or leaving in protest. You know, this loving people stuff is hard work.}

One response

  1. Love it! People don’t even gossip or bring mess around me anymore because I put an end to it a long time ago! Now people know to go carry the news to someone else. I learned the hard way that just standing looking shocked or not adding to the conversation is still harmful. Its like you’re agreeing by not speaking out.

Leave a Reply

