Shall I Speak Ill of Him

Nurse: Will you speak well of him that kill’d your cousin?

Juliet: Shall I speak ill of him that is my husband?
Ah, poor my lord, what tongue shall smooth thy name,
When I, thy three-hours wife, have mangled it?

– William Shakespeare (Romeo and Juliet, III.2)

{I love Shakespeare, and this bit has always rung true with me. People judge us, not just by ourselves, but by how our loved ones treat us and what they say about us. This is especially true, I think, for spouses. So, show grace to the ones you love; they depend on you to uphold their good name.}

Leave a Reply

