I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness

“War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour all; but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.”

– J.R.R. Tokien (from The Two Towers, spoken by Faramir)

Faramir became one of my all-time favorite fictional characters the moment he entered this book. (If you’ve only seen the movies, you’ve only seen a pale shadow.) Faramir loves peace, he is principled and self-controlled, and he does what he has to do. I want to be like him.

3 responses

  1. I love reading your quotes, Lisa, because you find things I’ve never found even through I’ve read the same book several times.

    As long as we’re quoting Tolkien:

    In that hour of trial it was the love of his master that helped most to hold him firm; but also deep down in him lived still unconquered his plain hobbit-sense: he knew in the core of his heart that he was not large enough to bear such a burden, even if such visions were not a mere cheat to betray him. The one small garden of a free gardener was all his need and due, not a garden swollen to a realm; his own hands to use, not the hands of others to command.
    - The Return of the King, when Samwise is briefly in possession of the Ring.

  2. Thanks, Katie Mae. I’m going to use that one soon. Maybe I’ll combine it with the last two paragraphs of the book and made it an ode to Samwise. Do you have any other favorite quotes about him?

  3. Most of my other quotes are about Eowyn. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.